« Hal David, R.I.P. | Main | Dojo Cuts »

Robert Glasper Recovered: The Remix EP

The Robert Glasper Experiment's 'Black Radio' has already stormed our list to the best release of the year so far, so as to give us more than our musical palettes can handle, Glasper is planning the unveiling of 'Robert Glasper Recovered: The Remix EP', due for release on the 9th October.

It's certainly a hugely welcome release, particularly seeing a list of the names involved (below), but being honest - and this is intended as a compliment - I think I would have really loved the idea of the remix EP handled by Glasper et al themselves as opposed to handing the reigns over to other names.  They just completely nailed 'Black Radio' perfectly, I just doubt anyone can bring anything *better* to the table than what they themselves could.  (Having said that, I'm particularly looking forward to Questlove's remix of 'Twice' as well as Glasper's own mix of 'Letter To Hermione'.  The closing number, 'Dillatude' (presumably an ode to iconic hip-hop produce, Jay Dee (J Dilla)) also raises expectations.)

If you've yet to read our very own review of 'Black Radio', click here for the full text.  In the meantime, bring on 9th October!

1. Afro Blue feat. Erykah Badu / 9th Wonder’s Blue Light Basement Remix feat. Phonte
2. Black Radio feat. yasiin bey / Pete Rock Remix
3. The Consequences of Jealousy feat. Meshell Ndegeocello / Georgia Anne Muldrow’s Sassy Geemix
4. Twice / ?uestlove’s Twice Baked Remix feat. Solange Knowles & The Roots
5. Letter to Hermione (feat. Bilal) / Robert Glasper and Jewels Remix feat. Black Milk
6. Dillatude

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Textile formatting is allowed.